Suzeeinthecity: Cairo Street Art- Downtown Cairo

Mr. X by Keizer next to Chessboard by El Teneen on Yousef El Guindy Street

If you’re interested in the rising graffiti trend in Cairo, check out my other blog SuzeeintheCity as I scramble around Cairo searching for the latest graffiti pieces.

[‘Excuse me,’ he walks up to me as I hesitantly put my camera down, ‘What does this picture mean?’

He points at the Keizer stencil of Mickey Mouse on the grey wall. Mahmoud Bassiouny Street on a Saturday afternoon is crowded, and people seem still wary of any snap-happy camera-toting thug like me. Who knows, I could be another Facebook-loving Zionist spy.

‘I think that’s Mickey Mouse,’ I say helpfully.

‘Yes but what does it mean? And who is that man next to him?’

He’s bald with a graying walrus moustache, probably in his mid-forties, his full cheeks sweating as he fans at his pin-striped pink shirt.

‘I’m not quite sure,’ I say politely, wishing I could go back to my camera, but he appears adamant for an answer. ‘Maybe it’s a president? It could be George Bush.’

‘Yes but what is George Bush doing with Mickey Mouse? I like this picture, I walk past it every day, but I wish there’d be some writing explaining it so that I could understand.’

How do I explain dichotomy or irony in Arabic? My mind goes blank.

‘Err… maybe the guy who made this wants you to think about it and come up with your own idea?’ I offer weakly.]

To read more and check out the graffiti of Downtown Cairo in all its glory, click here.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Suzeeinthecity: Cairo Street Art- Downtown Cairo

  1. Pingback: Suzeeinthecity: Cairo Street Art- Downtown Cairo | Art, Creativity, Culture, Egypt, Inspiration | Arab Stands

  2. leeh mat3mlesh ketab zai eli 3amlto Dina ghalwash
    Daires of an Egyptian Girl
    plz I recommend it to read it and now you in Egypt

  3. Sa’alam Suhzy! How the hell do I get in touch with you? Have an Abrahamic creative cultural ministry initiative and want to get some of you and your work in! DM on twitter, or better send me em logosguildworksministries.org http://www.facebook.com/deborah.risa.mrantz

Leave a Reply

